LibGuides: Tour of IALS Library: Floor L2

Rolling stacks (mobile shelving)

On this floor, books are kept in rolling stacks. Rotate the handles to open and close the stacks and access the books. Before you move the shelves please check the surrounding gaps to make sure no-one is in there! To lock a stack, pull the knob towards you until it clicks. To release the shelves, push the knob in again.

This is the end of the tour of the physical library space. We hope you've found it helpful and are now more familiar with the services, collections and facilities available at IALS Library.

For further information on accessibility in the library, please visit our Disability support and accessibility guide.

Photos of the L2 Reading room showing the study desks, shelving trolly and the photocopier

L2 reading room collections

Welcome to the L2 reading room.

In the L2 reading room, you will find books with the classmarks BB-BS and GB-GN, GP and GS-GU. The collections on this floor cover:

Bibliographies
The Commonwealth
Africa
Asia and the Pacific
Australia and New Zealand
Canada and the United States
South America

To find out exactly what we have in our collections, check our library catalogue.

On one side of the lift you will see a shelving trolley - put books here when you've finished with them for library staff to re-shelve. On the other side of the lift is a photocopier.

For the next stop on the tour, have a closer look at the bookshelves - notice anything different about them?

Tap the 'next' arrow to read more about the shelving on L2.

Rolling stacks (mobile shelving)

On this floor, books are kept in rolling stacks. Rotate the handles to open and close the stacks and access the books. Before you move the shelves please check the surrounding gaps to make sure no-one is in there! To lock a stack, pull the knob towards you until it clicks. To release the shelves, push the knob in again.

This is the end of the tour of the physical library space. We hope you've found it helpful and are now more familiar with the services, collections and facilities available at IALS Library.

For further information on accessibility in the library, please visit our Disability support and accessibility guide.

L2 reading room collections

Welcome to the L2 reading room.

In the L2 reading room, you will find books with the classmarks BB-BS and GB-GN, GP and GS-GU. The collections on this floor cover:

Bibliographies
The Commonwealth
Africa
Asia and the Pacific
Australia and New Zealand
Canada and the United States
South America

To find out exactly what we have in our collections, check our library catalogue.

On one side of the lift you will see a shelving trolley - put books here when you've finished with them for library staff to re-shelve. On the other side of the lift is a photocopier.

For the next stop on the tour, have a closer look at the bookshelves - notice anything different about them?

Tap the 'next' arrow to read more about the shelving on L2.

Rolling stacks (mobile shelving)

On this floor, books are kept in rolling stacks. Rotate the handles to open and close the stacks and access the books. Before you move the shelves please check the surrounding gaps to make sure no-one is in there! To lock a stack, pull the knob towards you until it clicks. To release the shelves, push the knob in again.

This is the end of the tour of the physical library space. We hope you've found it helpful and are now more familiar with the services, collections and facilities available at IALS Library.

For further information on accessibility in the library, please visit our Disability support and accessibility guide.