Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases: Home

An introduction to IALS Library's electronic resources.

Databases

Databases guide: introduction

IALS Library has a large suite of subscription databases, covering many different jurisdictions. Their contents include journal articles, legislation, case law, books, treaties, journal indexes and more.

This guide offers an overview and says how to choose which databases to use. It also explains how members of the library can access them.

Accessing the databases

Access to databases is via the IALS Law Databases page. 

On-site access
Students and academics can access any of the databases while in the library. Select the IALS-Lib wireless network to access databases from your own device, or use one of the library's computers.

Off-site access
To see which databases you can access from off site, go to the Law Databases page and select your membership category using the drop-down menu.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IALS staff, IALS fellows and IALS students have off-site access to almost all the databases.

Non-IALS academics and many non-IALS students have off-site access to selected databases; however, master's students with a 7-day ticket do not have offsite access to databases.

Practitioners and other non-academic readers have no off-site access.

The remote login for all databases except Westlaw and Practical Law is: 

ID:  family name
PW: barcode number from IALS Library card

Lexis 360 and SCC Online also require you to register individually the first time you use them: see the 'More information' pop-ups for Lexis 360 and SCC Online, here.

For Westlaw and Practical Law (IALS students, IALS staff and IALS fellows only), use the same ID and password as for StudyOnline and the IALS computer network.