Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases: Databases for foreign law

An introduction to IALS Library's electronic resources.

Databases heading

Need more help with foreign law research?

IALS librarians have written research guides covering more than thirty foreign jurisdictions.

The subscription resources mentioned on this tab can be found on the IALS Law Databases page (except Staudinger - see Germany, below).

TIPS
To access foreign law material 
on Lexis®Library, open the Sources tab and select International Content. 

To access foreign law material on Westlaw, select Westlaw International Materials from the Law Databases page. 

Multi-jurisdictional sources

Subscription databases

Cases
IBFD Online has tax cases from a wide range of jurisdictions.

Foreign Law Guide, a global directory published by Brill, lists print and online sources of cases for almost every jurisdiction in the world, gives links to online sources, and gives an overview of each jurisdiction's history and legal system. (It does not include collections of cases).

 

Legislation

Foreign Law Guide, a global directory published by Brill, gives the titles and citations of legislation for almost every jurisdiction of the world, arranged by subject; it gives links to online sources of legislation, where available.

World Constitutions Illustrated, a module of HeinOnline, provides the current and historical constitutions for every jurisdiction, with commentary and bibliographies. 

Journals
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes law journals from all around the world (about 600 journals in total).

Other
IBFD Online has surveys and analysis of tax regimes worldwide.

Foreign Law Guide gives an overview of the history and legal system of each jurisdiction, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Practical Law has a set of Global Guides that provide overviews of about seventy topics in more than twenty foreign jurisdictions, accompanied by a comparison tool (see Practical Law's Resources tab).

Lexis®Library has Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in... for about thirty foreign jurisdictions (see Browse - International Content - United States).

Free websites

WorldLII: a large collection of legislation, cases and related material from all over the world

Eagle-i: a gateway to high-quality legal information on the web, covering many different jurisdictions

N-Lex: a search facility covering the national legislation websites of each EU member state

Africa

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes journals from several African jurisdictions, including more than twenty-five South African titles. It also has journals focusing on African law in general.

Sabinet Online provides 20 African law journals, mostly South African;  not all of them come up with the 'Law' filter, but all are on the A-Z title list, and all are searchable.

SCC Online has cases from about fifteen African jurisdictions (details on SCC coverage page under 'Foreign Materials').

Lexis®Library has Butterworths Statutes of South Africa and Butterworths South African Constitutional Law Reports (see Sources - International Content). 

Westlaw International Materials has Constitutional Law of South Africa​, a treatise published by Juta.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Americas

Canada
Westlaw International Materials has Canadian cases and legislation (federal and provincial), about sixty Canadian journals/newsletters and about seventy books, including the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest.

Lexis®Library has Canadian cases and legislation (federal and provincial) and more than twenty journals; many, but not all, of the Canadian journals are listed under 'United States'.

HeinOnline has more than 130 Canadian journals, Canada Supreme Court Reports and Revised Statutes of Canada (historical collections of statutes as amended).

 

Caribbean
vLexJustis has a substantial collection of cases covering eighteen Caribbean states, the Caribbean Court of Justice and the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.

Lexis®Library (UK platform) has the West Indian Reports.

Westlaw International Materials has primary and secondary legislation from Barbados and the Cayman Islands.


Latin America
HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes more than fifty Latin American journals.

Lexis®Library has a collection called Jurisprudencia de la Corte Suprema de Mexico - Mexican Caselaw, covering Supreme Court cases up about 2004 (Sources - International Content - United States). 

 

United States
Lexis®Library's US content includes federal and state legislation, federal and state cases, about 750 journals and about 200 books, including the American Law Institute’s Restatement of the Law series (see Browse - International Content - United States).

Westlaw International Materials' US content includes federal and state legislation, federal and state cases (with the KeyCite citator), over 1,000 US journals and over 2,500 US books, including the encyclopedia Corpus Juris Secundum.

HeinOnline includes over 2,300 US journals, federal legislation, US Supreme Court cases, presidential materials, classic books and more.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books covers over 1,100 journals, as well as some books and other material; the majority are US publications (see title list).

NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository is a database of working papers, reports, lectures, workshop presentations and other scholarship by US academics.

For interdisciplinary research, see the following databases, which cover many US journals (some full-text, others not):

  • EBSCOHost:  Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier
  • JSTOR

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Asia

Lexis®Library (see Sources - International Content) has:

Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong (an encyclopedia) and a collection of cases from Hong Kong.

Jindal Global Law Review (India) and ​Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in India (both listed under 'United States')

Malayan Law Journal (which publishes cases as well as articles), Malayan Court Practice and Unannotated Malaysian Statutes

SCC Online has:

Indian cases from the late C18th to the present, Indian primary and secondary legislation as amended, more than thirty Indian law journals

cases from Bangladesh, Malaysia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand (details on SCC coverage page under 'Foreign Materials')

two journals from Singapore and one journal from Bangladesh (Dhaka University Law Journal).

Westlaw International Materials has:

about ten books on Chinese law (in English), Hong Kong Law Journal, Hong Kong cases and legislation

Korean cases and legislation; about ten Korean journals. (All this content is in English, but is not current.)

Singapore Year Book of International Law and the Singapore Journal of Legal Studies.

HeinOnline's Law Journals Library includes nearly 30 Chinese titles, over 40 Indian titles, 20 Turkish titles, and some from Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, and Singapore.

vLexJustis has the Singapore Law Reports and a few Singaporean journals

LLMC Digital has the All India Reporter from 1914 to 1947.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Australia and New Zealand

Australia
Lexis®Library has Australian case law and fifteen Australian journals (some of the journals are under 'United States').

Westlaw International has Australian case law and a few Australian journals (not the same journals as Lexis).

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes over a hundred Australian journals.

FirstPoint is an Australian case digest and citator.

New Zealand
Lexis®Library has New Zealand cases, New Zealand Law Journal, and Laws of New Zealand (an encyclopedia).

Westlaw International Materials has five New Zealand journals.

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes fifteen New Zealand journals.

Index to Legal Periodicals covers some New Zealand journals.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Europe

France
Lexis 360 has French legislation, cases, encyclopedias, journals and other publications.

Lexis®Library's International Content platform has several French journals.

Le Doctrinal indexes more than 380 law journals, mainly French.

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes about twenty French titles, mostly historical.

Germany

Beck-OnlineIALS Library's subscription to this service covers legislation (annotated), books, journals and cases.

Hein Online's Law Journal Library includes more than 50 titles published in Germany (many are in English, and focus on European or international law).

Staudingers Kommentar zum Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch, a commentary on the German Civil Code, is available online via the Juris platform (under 'Kommentare)': see 'Staudinger - BGB online', on IALS Library Catalogue.

Westlaw International Materials and Lexis®Library's both have the German Law Journal (on Lexis, it is found under 'Sources' - 'International Content' - 'United States').

Ireland
HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes over thirty Irish journals, some current, some historical.

Lexis®Library has Irish cases, including the Irish Reports, and two Irish journals (under 'Sources' - 'Browse Sources' - 'Ireland').

vLexJustis has the Irish Reports and Irish Digest.

Westlaw UK indexes about twenty-five Irish journals and has two full-text ones. 

Other
HeinOnline includes law journals from nearly thirty other European jurisdictions, including many in Eastern Europe: see 'Law Journal Library' - 'Browse by' - 'Country'.

Westlaw International Materials includes two Swiss arbitration books.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Middle East

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library has six Israeli journals, and one or two from Iran, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates.

Lexis®Library's International Content platform has Israel Law Review (under 'United States').

Westlaw International Materials has two Israeli journals. 

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.