We'd love to hear your comments about this Research Guide.
Email ials@sas.ac.uk
Guide last updated by Hester Swift, May 2022
IALS Library has a large suite of subscription databases, covering many different jurisdictions. Their contents include journal articles, legislation, case law, books, treaties, journal indexes and more.
This guide offers an overview and says how to choose which databases to use. It also explains how members of the library can access them.
Access to databases is via the IALS Law Databases page.
On-site access
Students and academics can access any of the databases while in the library. Select the IALS-Lib wireless network to access databases from your own device, or use one of the library's computers.
Off-site access
To see which databases you can access from off site, go to the Law Databases page, click on 'Offsite access availablility' and select your membership category:
IALS staff, IALS fellows and IALS students have off-site access to almost all the databases; other academics and students have off-site access to many of the databases. Practitioners and other non-academic readers have no off-site access to subscription-based databases.
The remote login for most databases is:
ID: family name
PW: barcode number from IALS Library card
Lexis 360 and SCC Online require you to register individually the first time you use them: see the information pages for Lexis 360 and SCC Online, here.
For remote access to Westlaw and Practical Law (IALS students, IALS staff and IALS fellows only), use the same ID and password as for StudyOnline and the IALS computer network.
