Databases: Home

We'd love to hear your comments about this Research Guide.

Email ials@sas.ac.uk

IALS Library has a large suite of subscription databases, covering many different jurisdictions and containing journal articles, legislation, case law, books, treaties, journal indexes and more.

This guide offers an overview and says how to choose which databases to use. It also explains how members of the library can access them.

You can access the databases via the IALS Law Databases page.

On-site access
Students and academics can access any of the databases while in the library. Select the UOL Research Libraries wireless network, or use one of the library's computers.

Remote access
To see which databases you can access from off site, go to the Law Databases page, click on 'Offsite access availability' and select your membership category:

IALS staff, IALS fellows and IALS students have off-site access to almost all databases, and other academics and students have off-site access to many of them. Practitioners and other non-academic readers do not have off-site access to subscription-based databases.

To log in remotely:-

• Select a database from the A-Z list, then click on 'Access Database'; this will open Library Search (the catalogue).
• Make sure you are signed in to Library Search. (See Your account for help with this.)
• On the Library Search record for the database you have selected, under 'View Online', click on the remote access link ('view full text'):

• Choose a user group from the sign-in menu. Most IALS Library members should choose 'Login for Library Members', but IALS and other SAS students/staff should choose 'SAS Students and Staff'.

• You should now be taken straight into the e-resource (as long as you are logged in to Library Search). 
  NB Westlaw and Practical Law are different: for remote access to Westlaw and Practical Law, IALS students/staff/fellows should enter their SAS email address and the associated password. (Remote access to our Westlaw and Practical Law accounts is for IALS students/staff/fellows only.)

Login exceptions
Lexis 360 and SCC Online require you to register the first time you use them: see our information pages for Lexis 360 and SCC Online.

i-Law and Le Doctrinal require individual logins: please email the library (ials@sas.ac.uk) to request a login if you would like access to full-text material on one of these databases.

As mentioned above, IALS students/staff/fellows log into Westlaw and Practical Law using their SAS email address and password. (Remote access to our Westlaw and Practical Law accounts is licensed for IALS students/staff/fellows only.)

Please let us know by emailing ials@sas.ac.uk or using the Live Chat if you experience any problems with accessing e-resources.