Training at IALS Library: Training events

What does this session cover?

This 30 minute talk will introduce you to the collections, services and support available at IALS Library. The talk includes:

• an overview of the extensive law collections in IALS Library;
• finding what you need in the library;
• how to access the legal research databases (including remote access);
• where to get further help.

Who is it for?

Online sessions are open to all current and prospective members of IALS Library.

Where / when does it take place?

Friday 17th October, 11:00-11:30 - online via Zoom

Thursday 23rd October, 14:00-14:30 - online via Zoom

Monday 27th October, 14:00-14:30 - online via Zoom

Wednesday 5th November, 14:00-14:30 - online via Zoom

How can I book a place?

View availability and book a place using the individual event links above.

View a full calendar of events and book further sessions 

What do these sessions cover?

Lexis+ UK and Westlaw UK are the key databases you need to master for effective legal research in the UK.

At these introductory sessions you will learn how to:

• choose your database and log in;
• find UK legislation and cases;
• find legal journal articles;
• find foreign and international law materials;
• search and browse effectively;
• download your results.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

Wednesday 22nd October, 14:00-15:30 - in person in the Library Training Room

Tuesday 28th October, 14:00-15:30 - online via Zoom

Monday 3rd November, 11:00-12:30 - online via Zoom

Tuesday 11th November, 14:00-15:30 - in person in the Library Training Room

Wednesday 19th November, 14:00-15:30 - online via Zoom

How can I book a place?

View availability and book a place using the individual event links above.

View a full calendar of events and book further sessions

What does this session cover?

In this introductory session you will learn how to use legal databases to find legal journal articles. The session will help you to:

• find the full-text of an article if you only have a citation;
• identify the most relevant databases for your research topic;
• efficiently search databases for relevant journal articles;
• get the most out of the e-resources available at IALS Library.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

Friday 24th October, 14:00-15:30 - online via Zoom

Thursday 30th October, 11:00-12:30 - online via Zoom

Tuesday 4th November, 14:00-15:30 - in person in the Library Training Room

Monday 10th November, 14:00-15:30 - online via Zoom

How can I book a place?

View availability and book a place using the individual event links above.

View a full calendar of events and book further sessions

What does this session cover?

This session will prepare you for researching public international law documentation. At this session we will explain how to:

• use the UN Treaty Collection;
• access regional and national treaty collections, print and online;
• use a treaty index;
• find decisions from the ICJ, ECHR and other international courts using online and print resources;
• find cases in the International Law Reports series and the ORIL database.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

Thursday 6th November, 14:00-15:00 - in person in the Library Training Room

Tuesday 18th November, 14:00-15:00 - online via Zoom

How can I book a place?

View availability and book a place using the individual event links above.

View a full calendar of events and book further sessions

What does this session cover?

OSCOLA stands for the Oxford Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities. At this session you will learn the basics of citing your references using OSCOLA. This includes how to:

• cite UK legislation & cases;
• cite foreign and international legal materials;
• cite books, journal articles, websites & online material;
• cite a source that isn't covered by the OSCOLA rules;
• avoid plagiarism;
• write your bibliography;
• keep your word count down by cross-referencing footnotes.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard

Where / when does it take place?

Friday 14th November, 14:00-15:00 - online via Zoom

Thursday 20th November, 11:00-12:00 - online via Zoom

Monday 24th November, 14:00-15:00 - in person in the Veeder-Roebuck Conference Room (on the ground floor of IALS building)

Friday 5th December, 14:00-15:00 - online via Zoom

How can I book a place?

View availability and book a place using the individual event links above.

View a full calendar of events and book further sessions