Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Training at IALS Library: Spring term

An introduction to research skills training offered by the IALS Library

About Spring training

In the spring term we provide one-to-one reference advice sessions, giving you the opportunity to ask specific questions about finding materials for your research, searching databases, or using OSCOLA. Also in the spring you can also make a one-to-one appointment with a computer services librarian for advice on formatting your dissertation, essay or thesis.

In spring 2021 we will be running online sessions to introduce OSCOLA, finding legal journal articles, sources of public international law and the two main legal research databases in the UK, Lexis Library and Westlaw. Dates and booking links are listed on this page.

Anyone who is an IALS Library academic member can take part in spring training, regardless of affiliation or level of study. Teaching staff and visiting fellows are also very welcome to attend all of our sessions. All of the training is free.

Introduction to OSCOLA

What does this session cover?

OSCOLA stands for the Oxford Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities. In this session you will learn how to:

  • cite your references using OSCOLA
  • cite UK legislation & cases
  • cite foreign and international legal materials
  • cite books, journal articles, websites & online material
  • cite a source that isn't covered by the OSCOLA rules
  • avoid plagiarism
  • write your bibliography
  • keep your word count down by cross-referencing footnotes

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard who need to use OSCOLA to cite their work. Provisional library cards are also acceptable.

Where / when does it take place?

In spring 2021 all sessions will take place online.

Tuesday 19 January, 11:00-12:00 Book here

Monday 01 February 15:00-16:00 Book here

Back to TOP

 

Westlaw and Lexis Library Introductions

What do these sessions cover?

Lexis Library and Westlaw are the key databases you need to master for effective legal research in the UK. We run two introductory sessions, one covering Cases and Legislation and the other covering Jouranl Articles and Foreign & International mateials. We highly reccommend attending both of the sessions as you are very likely to need to be able to locate all of these materials during the course of your study or research.

At these introductory sessions you will learn how to:

  • choose your database and log in
  • find UK legislation and cases
  • find legal journal articles
  • find foreign / international law materials
  • search and browse effectively
  • download your results

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard. Provisional library cards are also acceptable.

Where / when does it take place?

In spring 2021 all sessions will take place online.

Cases and Legislation

Wednesday 27 January 15:00-16:00 Book here

Wednesday 03 February 15:00-16:00 Book here

Journal articles and Foreign & international materials

Monday 25 January 11:00-12:00 Book here

Thursday 04 February 15:00-16:00 Book here

Reference advice: One-to-one sessions

Sign up for a 30 minute one-to-one advice session with an IALS Reference Librarian. In spring 2021, appointments will be held online using MS Teams or Zoom.

We can help you with:

  • Finding books, journal articles and other materials for a particular piece of research
  • Advice on which database to use
  • Constructing effective searches
  • Narrowing your search results
  • Citing resources using OSCOLA

Or perhaps you just don’t know where to start with your research?

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

We offer appointments Monday to Thursday. In sping 2021 the appointments will be online.

How can I book a place?

Email ials@sas.ac.uk to request an appointment. We will let you know what times are available. Once we have booked in your appoinement we will invite you to a Zoom or MS Teams meeting.

Back to TOP

Finding legal journal articles for your essay, dissertation or thesis

What does this session cover?

In this introductory session you will learn how to use legal databases to find legal journal articles. The session will help you to:

  • find the full-text of an article if you only have a citation
  • identify the most relevant databases for your research topic
  • efficiently search databases for relevant journal articles
  • get the most of the e-resources available at IALS Library

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard. Provisional library cards are also acceptable.

Where / when does it take place?

In spring 2021 all sessions will take place online.

Monday 18 January 15:00-16:00 Book here

Thursday 26 January 11:00-12:00 Book here

Back to TOP

 

Sources of Public International Law

What does this session cover?

In this introductory session you will learn how to:

  • Use the UN Treaty Collection
  • Access regional and national treaty collections, print and online
  • Use a treaty index
  • Find decisions from the ICJ, ECHR and other international courts using online and print resources
  • Find cases in the International Law Reports series and the ORIL database

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard. Provisional library cards are also acceptable.

Where / when does it take place?

In spring 2021 this all sessions will take place online.

Tuesday 02 February 15:00-16:00 Book here